The World Gold Council launched the Responsible Gold Mining Principles (RGMPs) in September 2019 following extensive consultation about their content with investors, governments, NGOs and supply chain actors. The RGMPs provide a framework for the management of environmental, social and governance issues and are subject to independent assurance at both a corporate and site level. The Principles constitute an industry standard and provide assurance to investors and to gold refiners in conducting due diligence. 

About the webinar

The webinar took place on 24 of March 2021 and was conducted in English with simultaneous translation to Russian.

The webinar provides an opportunity to brief Russian gold miners and refiners on the content of the Principles and what is involved in their implementation and in obtaining independent assurance. It will involve input from both the World Gold Council and implementing companies. 

You can find presentation slides under the video in the speakers’ profiles.

If you have a question and would like to contact a speaker you can do so by clicking “Contact Speaker” button in their profile.

If you have any questions to the World Gold Council, please complete contact form located in the tab above.

Event programme

11:00 GMT

07:00 EST

Welcome, ESG scene-setter and relevance to Russia

John Mulligan

Director of Market Relations and Climate Change Lead
World Gold Council

Profile

11:10 GMT

07:10 EST

Introduction to the Responsible Gold Mining Principles - Context, Consultation, Issues Covered

Edward Bickham

Senior Adviser
World Gold Council

Profile

11:35 GMT

07:35 EST

Responsible Gold Mining Principles - Implementation, Assurance and Interaction with other Codes

Peter Sinclair

Senior Advisor
World Gold Council

Profile

11:55 GMT

07:55 EST

Question and Answer Panel

12:05 GMT

08:05 EST

Piloting and Preparing to Implement the Responsible Gold Mining Principles – Company Experiences

Piloting the Responsible Gold Mining Principles – Kumtor Mine, Kyrgyz Republic

Marina Proskurovsky

ESG & Sustainability Strategist
Centerra Gold

Profile

Preparing to Implement the Responsible Gold Mining Principles

Andrei Naumov

Head of Community Relations and Sustainable Development
Nordgold

Profile

12:30 GMT

08:30 EST

Aligning Gold Miners and Refiners – the Responsible Gold Mining Principles and the LBMA Responsible Gold Guidance

Neil Harby

Chief Technical Officer
LBMA

Profile

12:45 GMT

08:45 EST

Discussion – the Perspectives of Miners, Refiners and Investors

13:00 GMT

09:00 EST

Close

Ask Organiser a Question

Advantix Ltd (London) 

Tel: +44 208 089 2886 (Option “MINEX Forum”) 

Email: admin@advantix.co.uk  

ООО «МАЙНЕКС Форум» (Moscow) 

Tel: +7 495 128 3577 (Option “MINEX Forum”) 

Email: ru@minexforum.com  

Skip to toolbar